The Faculty of Uzbek Philology was established by the Decree of the  President of the Republic of Uzbekistan dated May 13, 2016 "On the establishment of the Alisher Navo'i Tashkent State University of Uzbek Language and Literature".                                                                              

    There are many scientists who have studied at the faculty and achieved high results in science. In particular, linguists and literary scholars: Izzat Sultan, Matyokub Kushjanov, Azim Hojiyev, Iristoy Kochkartoev, Naim Karimov, Bakhtiyor Nazarov were elected academicians of the Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan. Sarvar Azimov, Gulom Karimov, Subutoy Dolimov, Matyokub Kushjanov, Ozod Sharafiddinov, Hafiz Abdusamatov, Laziz Qayumov, Naim Karimov, Begali Kasimov, Umarali Normatov and Abdugafur Rasulov were awarded the title of Scientist of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

  Famous writers and poets Oybek, Abdulla Kahhor, Odil Yakubov, Saida Zunnunova, Olmas Umarbekov, Khudoyberdi Tokhtaboyev, Shukur Kholmirzaev, Rauf Parfi learned the secrets of creativity at this school.

   Four of the students who studied at the faculty are  Heroes of Uzbekistan. One of them is Ozod Sharafiddinov, a literary scholar who has taught the secrets of literary criticism at the faculty for many years. Poets of Uzbekistan Abdulla Oripov and Erkin Vahidov, writer, translator and critic Ibrahim Gafurov are the pride not only of the faculty, but of the whole of Uzbekistan.                                                                


     There are 5 departments at the faculty:

  • Uzbek linguistics 
  • History of Uzbek literature 
  • Theory of literature and modern literary processes 
  • Folklore and dialectology 
  • World literature and universal literary

There are 57 professors and teachers, including 1 academic, 17 Doctors of Sciences and 27 PhDs.  The professors and teachers of the faculty are outstanding specialists in the field of Linguistics and Literature both in our country and abroad.  Currently seven of the professors and teachers are members of the Writers’ Union of Uzbekistan.

 A series of programs dedicated to the promotion of our classical and modern literature, created by professors and teachers of the faculty, such as “Khamsahonlik”, “Beautiful writers”, “Literary process” are regularly broadcasted on national channels.


    Faculty has established cooperation with international higher education institutions such as Bandirma Onyedi Elul University, Ushak University, Pamukkale University, Ankara Hoja Bayram Vale University, Mukhtar Avezov Institute of Literature and Art of the Republic of Kazakhstan, University of Northern Alabama, Nasimi Institute of Languages, Azerbaijan Academy of Sciences,  Eurasian National University of Kazakhstan named after Gumilev, the Scientific and Practical Center of Languages ​​and Cultures of the Altai Communities, and  Shanghai University of Nations.

   Docent Mardon Rakhmatov (Shanghai University of Nations), Senior Lecturer Sabohat Bozorova (Ankara Khoja Bayram Vale University) not only improved their skills in advanced training courses abroad, but also taught Uzbek language to students there.

    The faculty currently has international scientific centers, well-known Doctors of Philological Sciences and professors: Hamidulla Dadaboyev, Samikhon Ashirbaev, Nurboy Jabborov, Uzak Jurakulov, Bahodir Karimov, Zulhumor Kholmanova, Dilnavoz Yusupova work at the faculty. 


   Winners of  Zulfiya state award,  Ilhom prize,  Young Reader Republican Contest as well as students awarded prestigious scholarships study at the faculty.   

    Dean of the Faculty: Doctor of Philology, Professor Abdushukurov Bakhtiyor Boronovich